The Blue Flower – Penelope Fitzgerald

the-blue-flower2

Published: 1995

Pages:
240

Challenges: Guardian 1000 novels, Colourful reading challenge, Support your local library challenge

Rating:
4/5

This is one of those books that I would never have read if it hadn’t been for reading challenges. The setting (late 18th century Germany) wouldn’t be my first choice but it fitted in nicely with the challenges above and my library also had a copy.

Unexpectedly, I liked it quite a lot. It is a novel based on true events in the life of the romantic poet and philosopher Fritz von Hardenberg, later to change his name to Novalis. In particular the period in his life when he meets Sophie von Kuhn, falls in love with her after only 15 minutes in her company and despite her young age – she is 12 and he is 22 when they meet. He decides immediately that she is his “true philosophy” and then sets about convincing Sophie and all those around him, not least his father, that they should be married.

The beauty of this story is in the writing which is delightful and creates a wonderful sense of time and place. I really felt that I was there, in those little German towns in the late 1700’s. We are introduced to the characters in a light and playful way and you cannot help but be drawn in by the spirit of Fritz and his romantic way of looking at life. There is also a tone of dry humour throughout the story – some of the passages are really funny. I can’t say that I felt especially connected to any of the individual characters, more to the essence of the story.

Penelope Fitzgerald wrote several other short books which appear to be about all different subjects. One of these Offshore won the Booker prize in 1979. I will definitely read another one of her books at least in the future. There is something appealing about a book that is short enough to finish in one day if you have the time to curl up and escape for a few hours…

4 responses to “The Blue Flower – Penelope Fitzgerald

  1. Tracey.

    I felt the same way about my ‘gold’ book. I ended up with a good read from something I typically would not have picked up. My review is here:

    http://ravndahl.blogspot.com/2009/03/review-golden-age-by-tahmima-anam.html

  2. Great review of a book that was difficult for me. You explain it perfectly. For me, though, I couldn’t get past my lack of connections with the characters.

    I think my “review” was something like, “The best novel about 18th Century German philosophy I will ever read.” :)

  3. Thank you Rose City – I agree, don’t think I’m likely to seek out this topic for my future reads.. 0:)

  4. This is by far one of the neatest wrote articles on this subject. I was researching on the exact same subject and your position entirely took me off with the way you understand this content. I congratulate your insight but do allow me to come back to comment further as I’m currently extending my search on this field of study further. I will be back to join in this discussion as I’ve bookmarked and tag this very page.

Leave a Reply

