The Woman in Black – Susan Hill

The Woman in Black

I had been looking for a preloved copy of this book for a while and finally found my little copy nestled in the out of the way horror section of my local second hand bookshop. It had writing on the cover, looked well travelled and full of it’s own history – perfect.

It’s Christmas eve. Arthur Kipps and his family sit around the fire on a cold frosty night telling ghost stories. Except Arthur is unsettled and refuses to join in.. He has his own real life ghost story that is so horrific he can only write it down for his family to read after his death.

12 years earlier, young solicitor Arthur Kipps is tasked by his boss to attend the funeral of a client Mrs Drablow, sort through her papers and promptly settle her affairs. When he arrives at the market town of Crythin Gifford he finds suspicious locals harbouring secrets they are too frightened to share.

Think of mist – thick, engulfing, sudden mist. Mist that swirls in from the surrounding marsh during high tide. High tide that for several hours a day cuts off the imosing solitary Eel Marsh House from the mainland. Think of the clicking hooves of a pony and trap, heard but never seen – and the eerie figure of the woman in black.

This is the first ghost book I have read. I wouldn’t say it was scary as such but I found it spooky, full of suspense and hard to put down. There were a couple of passages where I didn’t actually jump but felt a little chill as I read them. I enjoyed it a lot. It was fun to read in a creepy kind of way.

Later in the month we are going to see the play! I can’t wait and am curious to see how the eerieness is transferred onto the stage. Of course I will report back here once I have seen it!

Published:
1983
Pages: 160
Challenges: RIP IV, A Colourful reading challenge

8 responses to “The Woman in Black – Susan Hill

  1. Sounds like a good read for this time of year! I’m currently reading “The Little Stranger” by Sarah Waters, and it sure does have atmosphere. I look forward to finding out how the author decides to end this one.

    Thanks for providing your link to “After Dark.” I just added it to my post today.

  2. I found this terrifying! Can’t wait to hear what your opinion of the play is; I’m desperate to read it.

  3. This sounds like a great book; never geard of it until now.

  4. I went to see the play about 4 years ago. Before I went I wasn’t convinced that a theatre production could be that scary – how silly of me! It was terrifying and even the big, burly, macho chap sitting next to me screamed like a small girl at one point. :)

    Can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

    Oh, and I’ve just done that Reading Meme on our blog!

    Kat

  5. Kat – now I am really excited about the play! I was thinking the same thing that it probably won’t be that scary. Hopefully I will be totally spooked! I’ll pop over and check our your answers for the meme 0:)

  6. Hi, really enjoyed reading your review. I read and reviewed this one earlier this year and found it quite creepy, I think if I was home alone it would have been terrifying (I’m a wimp), great R.I.P choice. I think it would be great to get to see this on stage, have fun.

  7. Sharon – Thank you! I have to admit I did read it during the day and I wasn’t home alone – it might bave been a bit different in the middle of the night!

  8. Just finished and posted on this, and found it to be a lot of fun. Great for this time of year too. The stage production would be a real treat!

Leave a Reply

