Library Loot: March 7th 2009

library-loot2

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Eva and Alessandra that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library.

I get most of my books out of the library and seem to be there every few days. Have to admit I check out a lot more than I actually read.. Yesterday I picked up yet more…..

the-other-hand1grey-souls1tropic-of-cancer1the-blue-flower1the-polish-officer1balzac-and-the-little-chinese-seamstress2

1. The Other Hand – Chris Cleave – for the What’s in a name, Orbis Terrarum challenges and Around the World in 100 books. I have seen this book in the bookshops lately so was pleased to pick it up.

2. Grey Souls – Phillipe Claudel – for the Lost in Translation and Colourful reading challenges and Around the World in 100 books

3. Tropic of Cancer – Henry Miller. I’m not sure that I will read this one, think it is on the Guardian 1000 novel list.

4. The Blue Flower – Penelope Fitzgerald – for the Guardian 1000 novels and Colourful reading challenges

5. The Polish Officer – Alan Furst – this one could count for the What’s in a name challenge (profession) but I also got it because I love spy novels and think an action book would be good to read soon.

6. Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress – Dai Sijie – for the Lost in Translation and Orbis Terrarum challenges and What’s in a name (another profession) and Around the world in books.

Considering I only get through one book a week usually, this could be a real challenge! I can have them for 3 weeks though. I’m going to try and read at least half of them before my next visit to the library…..

2 responses to “Library Loot: March 7th 2009

  1. What a lovely set of books. I have The Blue Flower in mind for the same challenge so I’ll be interested to know your thoughts.

  2. Aren’t libraries wonderful – True to form, I managed to read one of these before being seduced into another visit…

Leave a Reply

