Persephone Reading Week – A prize!

Mrs_Craven

I had a lovely surprise when I logged on today and learnt I had won a copy of Good Evening, Mrs Craven: the wartime stories of Mollie Panter-Downes. I’m delighted! – a big thank you to Claire and Verity. I can’t wait to read it.

I’m nearly half way through The Wise Virgins by Leonard Woolf. It is perceptive and witty and giggle inducing. The preface begins by acknowleging that it is well known that one of the characters, Camilla Lawrence is based on the authors wife Virginia Woolf. The couple were on their honeymoon in 1912 when Leonard Woolf began this novel. So far it’s wonderful.

PersephoneBanner small

tuesday teaser

Just quote a couple of spoiler-free sentences from the book you’re reading to tempt other readers.

Here’s mine from The Wise Virgins – Page 71:

“The conversation in May’s boat was not altogether a success. Mr Davis, when he took off his coat to row, disclosed braces, a most depressing sight to suburban young ladies on a river party.”

Teaser Tuesdays are hosted by Mizb at Should be Reading

3 responses to “Persephone Reading Week – A prize!

  1. Congratulations! I have Mrs Craven on my bedside table and it looks lovely. The Wise Virgins is a Persephone I don’t know, but you may well have tempted me to add it to the colletion!

  2. Thanks so much Fleur – I’m really excited to have won a prize and the book sounds lovely. I’m really enjoying The Wise Virgins. I was tossing up between a few including Doreen which I remember from reading your review a while ago.

  3. The Wise Children sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

