Compass Points Challenge – Completed!

compass_challenge3

Rules: Read one book each with a title echoing the four main compass points: North, South, East, and West. These can be from any genre, fiction or non-fiction but they must have the word north, south, east, or west in the title.

Timeframe: 31 March to 31 August 2009

Many thanks to Kristen for hosting this challenge and encouraging me to read 4 wonderful books that I may have missed otherwise. I am hard pushed to pick a favourite. If I absolutely had to though it would be North and South.

Books read:

South of the Border, West of the Sun – Haruki Murakami
North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell
Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen
Eastern Approaches – Fitzroy Maclean

4 responses to “Compass Points Challenge – Completed!

  1. Congratulations on finishing! I feel the same about Austen…I don’t quite love her but have only read P&P and know I can’t base it on one book. Eastern Approaches sounds very interesting and I enjoyed reading about how you procured your copy. How funny that two of your titles have two directions in them. You already know how I feel about North and South:) I still think about it.

  2. Congratulations on finishing the challenge! I’ve only read Northanger Abbey (my second favorite Austen), but have both Murakami and Gaskell near the top of my tbr pile. Can’t decide which one to pick up first!

  3. Book PSmith – Thank you! Yes despite two of the books having two directions in them, I still struggled with choices.. Yes, North and South – it was wonderful. I’m just about ready to try another book by Elizabeth Gaskell I think. A hard act to follow though…!

  4. JoAnn – thank you! And as for Murakami and Gaskell, what a choice – Enjoy! I have only read the one of each but both were wonderful.

Leave a Reply

