BBAW – Reading Meme

Book blogger

What a wonderful idea Book Blogger Appreciation Week is. Somehow, I have only just discovered it but am looking forward to catching up on all the posts and interview swaps.

This meme encourages us to answer the questions below in a few words. A challenge! Here goes…

Do you snack while you read? If so, favorite reading snack?

No not usually as both hands are needed for reading – I like to have a drink though if at home

Do you tend to mark your books as you read, or does the idea of
writing in books horrify you?

Horrifies me but I like little stickies to mark special places or writing down a page number to go back to.

How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog-ears?Laying the book flat open?

In my perfect world, pretty bookmarks only. In my real world, all of the above which is shameful I know!

Fiction, Non-fiction, or both?

Mostly fiction

Hard copy or audiobooks?

Hardcopy. I have never listened to an audio book (so far)

Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?

I like to finish at the end of a chapter but do lots of reading on the train so will just finish where the train stops and pick up again later.

If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?

Very occasionally but I think it breaks the flow a bit much to do that. I love the idea of learning new words and sometimes write them down to check out later – whether I actually check them out later or not is another question!

What are you currently reading?

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte + slowly making my way through The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole.

Green Dolphin Country

What is the last book you bought?

Green Dolphin Country by Elizabeth Goudge. I visited the beautifully tempting Daunts Books last weekend and spent forever lost in the shelves. Elizabeth Goudge is an English writer, this book was written in the 1940’s, set in the Channel Islands and New Zealand. Published by Capuchin classics which I hadn’t heard of before.

Are you the type of person that only reads one book at a time or can
you read more than one at a time?

I have been thinking about this lately. I probably prefer one book at a time but since I became enchanted with the book blogging world this doesn’t happen. I usually have about three that I am dipping in and out of. One before bed, one for travelling and one other because I’m indecisive!

Do you have a favorite time of day and/or place to read?

At night usually and on the way to work. And on a winter’s Sunday – and by the pool on holiday…

Do you prefer series books or stand alone books?

I have mainly read stand alone books but am loving The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo series.

Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?

Not really but off the top of my head:

Daniel Silva – spy thrillers
Rosamunde Pilcher – comfort reads
Sebastian Faulks – beautiful writing

And I think I will be adding Haruki Murakami to that list – the two books of his I have read have been magical.

How do you organize your books? (By genre, title, author’s last name, etc.?)

Right now by available bookshelf and floor space!

3 responses to “BBAW – Reading Meme

  1. Looking forward to your thoughts on Jane Eyre. I read that one in college and enjoyed it.

  2. Hehe, great meme! 🙂 Our reading habits seem to be very similar. I read a lot in the metro & in trams on my way to work/to my hobbies, actually generally while I’m using public transport. I also read at night. And shelf & floor space is the main factor when it comes to organizing my books. I’m dreaming of custom made book shelves that would cover a whole wall. Well, one can always dream… 🙂

    I am also looking forward to your thought on Jane Eyre. It’s one of my all time favorites.

    Weekend greetings,
    Tiina

  3. Anna and Tiina – Thank you – I’m half way through Jane Eyre and loving it so far. Have just got to a very interesting stage….! 0:)

    Tiina – I too have dreams of the perfect bookshelves – floor to ceiling in a room with a fireplace. My ultimate dream! Weekend greetings to you as well 0:)

Leave a Reply

