Classics Challenge – Completed!

classicssmall

Timeframe: 1 April – 31 October 2009.
Goal: 6 books

A big thank you to Trish at Trish’s Reading Nook for hosting this challenge. I was a bit tentative about joining, having read so few classics. I’ve absolutely loved it and read some wonderful books with a couple of changes from the original list. I read Northanger Abbey and The Picture of Dorian Gray instead of The Red and the Black and Wuthering Heights. Both are on my TBR list. I didn’t want to rush through Wuthering Heights and The Red and the Black was just too ambitious I think!

Books read:

The woman in whiteWilkie Collins
Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
To kill a mockingbirdHarper Lee
North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell

Northanger Abbey Jane Austen
The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde

Bonus – “should be” classic:

The Savage Detectives – Roberto Bolano

There is a tv programme in the UK, The Book Show, where each week’s guests are asked to pick their favourite literary character. Out of these books, I would pick Margaret Hale from North and South for her modest and principled and passionate nature – and her taste in men! My favourite overall book was Jane Eyre – but it was a close call. They were all impressive in their own way.

7 responses to “Classics Challenge – Completed!

  1. Congratulations – that’s a really great list of books.

  2. Well done, I’ve read all your choices and I can see why you liked them:) BTW There’s a lovely BBC series of North and South which is well worth tracking down if you haven’t seen it.
    I’ve finished mine too, All Australian Classics see http://anzlitlovers.wordpress.com/challenges/the-classics-challenge-april-october-2009/
    I think there’s something especially satisfying about reading the classics, because they form the bedrock, the foundation of so many other books that we read.
    Lisa

  3. Fleur – Thank you!

    Lisa – Thank you! And great for you to have picked all Australian books. I’ll pop over and see what you have read. I have been amazed with the classics how universal and relevant they are.

  4. Lisa – I meant to add – thanks for mentioning the bbc version of North and South. I had seen this and thought it looked great (just from the cover!) Good to know that it is..

  5. Congratulations and what a great list. I will have to check out the Bolano book. I have the Stendhal book on my list for a 2010 challenge…I have to admit I am a little frightened of it:)

  6. That’s a good list. I read three of them some years ago and quite fancy reading two more next year – North and South and The Picture of Dorian Gray. Slightly intimidated by North and South to be honest, not sure why…

  7. Book Psmith – Thank you and good luck with The Savage Detectives and the Stendhal next year! I was a bit frightened of it as well – not sure why, I don’t even really know anything about it but it’s still on my evergrowing TBR list 🙂

    Cath – Thank you and hope you enjoy North and South and The Picture of Dorian Gray. I really loved North and South. I know what you mean about being slightly intimidated by a book but not really knowing why.. I think it’s the whole classics thing:)

Leave a Reply

