German Reading Challenge – Completed!

germanreading12

Rules: Read 6 to 12 books by a German author (I define “German” here as someone from a German-speaking country)

Timeframe: 1st January – 31st December 2009

My goal: 6 books

Many thanks to Marnyfor hosting this challenge. I have been amazed by the number of great books there are that were originally written in German. I had no idea.

These were the books I read for the challenge. I really wanted to get to The Dark Side of Love by Rafik Schami. I first saw this over at The Armenian Odar Reads. It’s set in Syria and I thought it sounded fascinating. It’s long though and I didn’t quite get there. I’m going to carry it over into next year’s plans.

1. The Sinner – Petra Hammesfahr
2. Austerlitz – W.G. Sebald
3. The Post Office Girl – Stefan Zweig
4. Alone in Berlin – Hans Fallada
5. He Was My Chief – Christa Schroeder
6. Chess – Stefan Zweig

10 responses to “German Reading Challenge – Completed!

  1. You’re quite the challenge champ, Tracey! Looking forward to reading both Austerlitz and The Post-Office Girl sometime soon. Cheers!

  2. Congrats on completing the challenge! From your list, I’ve only read Austerlitz, but there are a couple that I’d like to read at some point. Looking forward to your thoughts on the Rafik Schami book if and when you get to it!

  3. Congratulations on completing the challenge. I should have joined if I had known about it. I also read CHess and Post office girl this year. I loved the latter!

    • The Literary Stew – Thank you for taking the time to comment. I stumbled upon the challenge by chance myself. The Post Office Girl seems to have been really popular. I will pop over to your blog to say hi.

  4. I love to read books by authors from other countries, sounds like a fascinating challenge. If I had been choosing books for this I would have got as far as Sebald and then stuck!

    Are you planning to do a different country next year?

    • Sarah – yes the Sebald was definitely full on! This was one of the first challenges I signed up for when I started blogging and I really enjoyed it.

      I will probably be tempted by something similar this year despite promising myself that I will join less challenges!

  5. What a great challenge. As someone who already loves German books this one suits me down to the ground. I’ve read four of the books in your list and shall look up the other towo

    • Tom – It was a great challenge and one that took me by suprise. I plan to keep reading German authors and am sure to be adding more to my TBR list after visiting your blog!

Leave a Reply

