2010 Reading Plans

It’s a relief to have finally caught up on my 2009 posts. I promised myself that when that was done I could start to think about 2010 reading.

I have seen several bloggers post about their intention to read more deliberately this year and to choose the reading challenges they join with care. Hopefully this will leave more time for spontaneous reading. That is my intention too (fingers crossed and willpower permitting!)

The (relaxed) plan is to choose books from these categories:

World fiction – novels set in/by authors of different countries. Including books in translation and more New Zealand authors

Classics – I have read very few classics so have plenty to choose from. My aim to to choose books from a variety of publishing places, Penguin, Virago,Capuchin, One World classics etc. Plus the many more that I haven’t discovered yet. Also including Persephone books

Literary Fiction/Award winners – For a variety of reads generally agreed to be worthwhile reading

Spy/Political thrillers – Just because I love them and to encourage reading for fun.

Spontaneous reads – This was the area I missed out on last year. To be able to pick a book randomly or because it flows on naturally from another read or it’s discovered through another book blogger.

Newer releases – To balance the old with the new.

Hmmm – looking at that, it doesn’t sound that relaxed does it! Still, I can always see how it goes and I really can’t wait to get started.

So.. without further ado…

8 responses to “2010 Reading Plans

  1. Looks like you’ve got quite a challenge there! I’m sure you’ll get through though and it’s so wonderful to plan and think about the kinds of books you’d like to read.

  2. I’d like to have more spontaneous reads as well and more nonfiction. Good goals!

  3. I love classics because I’m always almost guaranteed a good read.

    Coincidentally, I’m reading a Janet Frame right now. I read her trilogy of autobiographies a year ago so this is the first fiction of hers I’ve read. Sadly, I don’t know much about NZ writers aside from Christina Stead (?), Frame and Katherine Mansfield, of course. 🙂

    • Mae – I’ve never read Janet Frame. She is definitely in my plans for this year. I saw Towards Another Summer in the library this week and was tempted but left it for now.

      I look forward to your thoughts on your latest read. I have never heard of Christina Stead so am off to check her out!

  4. This looks like a fun challenge (enjoy). I have already committed to (11)…YIKES!

  5. I am a bookworm and blogger widower !!

Leave a Reply

