Japanese Literature Challenge 3 – Completed!

Japanese Literature challenge

A big thank you to Dolce Bellezza for hosting this wonderful challenge, along with a helpful suggested reading list.

Guidelines: This year, all you have to do is read one work of Japanese origin. It can be literature of course, but don’t feel confined to that. You may choose to read poetry, biographies, short stories or even manga. If you are willing to read one such piece, you’ve met the challenge. If you read more, all the better.

Timeframe: July 30, 2009 to January 30, 2010.

A few months ago I didn’t really know anything of Japanese literature. I had seen Haruki Murakami’s books and I think I knew they were popular but that was all. Earlier in the year I read Murakami’s South of the Border, West of the Sun – I found it intriguing and captivating and the seed was sown.

Books Read:

After Dark – Haruki Murakami
Out – Natsuo Kirino
Kinshu: Autumn Brocade – Teru Miyamoto
In The Miso Soup – Ryu Murakami

The exciting news is there will be a Japanese Literature challenge 4 later in the year – I’m looking forward to that already!

4 responses to “Japanese Literature Challenge 3 – Completed!

  1. I just read Murakami for the first time last year and it was amazing. This is a good challenge!

  2. Stephanie – I completely agree, Murakami is amazing and so is this challenge. I’ve only read two of his books so far but eventually I’d like to make my way through them all.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. I have purchased Out due to all the strong recommendations I heard about this year; even if people didn’t like it they were intrigued, and that’s more than enough reason for me.

    I’m so glad that you participated in the JLC3, and that you’re looking forward to the JLC4. It’s such a fun experience for me to share. Eventually, we’ll make Murakami lovers out of every one!

    Thanks for all you read and reviewed, as well as your enthusiasm.

  4. Bellezza – Thank you! And to you for hosting such a wonderful challenge. I look forward to your thoughts on “Out” – it was certainly different. I’m already thinking about my books for the JLC4 – am going to try and extend my boundaries a bit but it will definitely include a Murakami!

Leave a Reply

