Body Surfing – Anita Shreve

This was the perfect read for me this week, lighter and shorter and a welcome change. I like Anita Shreve’s writing, this is the third of her books I have read (along with Fortune’s Rocks and Resistance), there is something comforting about her characters and settings but with enough grit not to be too wishy washy.

Body Surfing is about Sydney, at 29 with two marriages behind her, she takes on a live in job tutoring the daughter of a family over the summer at their beach house. Sydney, learning to live with the loss of her second husband, welcomes being part of the family but has to deal with their dynamics and the two brothers competing for her affection.

The story is set in the same house that featured in Shreve’s earlier book The Pilot’s Wife. I haven’t read that yet but am already thinking which of her books I can take on holiday later this month.

10 responses to “Body Surfing – Anita Shreve

  1. I went through an Anita Shreve phase where I read everything she had ever written. I remember this one and ***spoiler*** how I thought her fiance die too. I’m glad she ended up with the more charismatic brother.

    • Stephanie, I can imagine going through a phase like that – it’s very easy reading. I thought some of the story was guessable but not all and I didn’t pick that particular bit 0:)

  2. I’ve read a few of her novels and agree she is a great writer for when you want something light yet well written and plotted. I have this one waiting for me as well–may have to make it one of my ‘beach’ reads this summer.

    • Danielle – I think her novels are perfect beach reads, something to look forward to lying in the sun with, knowing they will be good and about the right size to get through in a day – lovely..

  3. This sounds really interesting – I loved Fortune’s Rocks and I think Anita Shreve is a really good writer for a light but still challenging read.

  4. I was just about to say I have read The Pilot’s Wife many many moons ago, and having just came back from a short break in Belfast, this book do have something to do with Irishness.

    I read The Sound of Butterflies by Rachel King in 2008, must say that will take you out of this world and into the rain forest…. haunting..

    I sure have so many books waiting to read and can bring along for the holiday. I can’t wait to go on another holiday again!! 🙂

  5. This wasn’t one of my favorite Shreve novels, but I thought it was okay. I didn’t really feel for any of the characters, aside from the sister, and that might be why it was just okay for me.

    • Anna – the sister and father were my favourite characters and of the three I have read, this is my least favourite. I think you recommend Sea Glass so I must look out for that one 0:)

Leave a Reply

