A return to blogging with a beautiful book

It’s been quite a while since I last posted. It wasn’t a conscious decision to stop blogging, a lull for a few days turned into a few weeks and then as it does, time flew and all of a sudden a few months had gone by and here we are in 2011 – Happy New Year!

During my little break from the blogging world I’ve been learning to run and bake, working a bit too much and reading far too little. I’m excited to be back in book land..

I’d heard good things about Australian author Alex Miller and was delighted to see my library had recently added Lovesong to their catalogue – it was sitting on a pile of books waiting to be shelved, all shiny and new; I practically pounced on it.

It’s always a delight to open a book and know straight away it’s a good fit – Alex Miller writes in a way I love, to the point yet elegant and full of feeling.

In the early part of the book, Australian John Patterner stumbles across a Tunisian cafe off the beaten track in Paris. He falls in love, with the gentle Sabiha and with the cafe and life she and her recently widowed aunt are creating there. John and Sabiha’s story is one of love and sadness and sacrifice. Years later and now living in Melbourne, John slowly reveals their story to a neighbour.

That is the bare bones of it – a beautifully told story. There is something comforting in the way the story is told, almost an invitation to pull up a chair in the cafe with the regulars and enjoy the delicious food and simple hospitality.

A strong theme throughout is the concept of home and how personal to each of us that is. That is something that is especially relevant for me right now and another reason I think that I enjoyed the book as much as I did.

2010, 368 pages

10 responses to “A return to blogging with a beautiful book

  1. Ahh…. We need those breaks once in awhile. It may happened to me very soon. But I can’t stay away too long from reading and reviewing.

    Welcome back Tracey. Often wonder where you have been and if you have given up blogging. Glad to know all it well. šŸ™‚

    • JoV – thank you for your kind words. It is lovely to be back reading and blogging. If you do take a break I hope it is rejuvenating – and short! I really like your choice of books and your blog 0:)

  2. Welcome back! I started a break around the same time as you and I wondered if everything was alright.

    It’s lovely to hear from you again, and thank you for adding another book to my library wishlist!

    • FleurFisher – it’s lovely to hear from you too – thank you! I’m curious to hear how you found your blogging break, am going to pop over and catch up – hope it went well for you.

      Yes do look out for this book at your library – I think you would enjoy it 0:)

  3. I’m so glad to see you are back!

  4. Happy Belated New Year! Sounds like a book I would love to read. Thanks for the recommendation!

  5. Welcome back! I have taken the odd unscheduled break myself, and coming back is always the best bit.

    And with a Virago special. Looking forward to checking out your posts. Particularly interested in the Nina Bawden, who was recently recommended to me…

    • Thank you Sarah! The Viragos have been wonderful – I had no idea but look forward to reading many more. I enjoyed the Nina Bawden book and am delighted to see she has written plenty of books….

Leave a Reply

