Paris in July and an entrée

Karen from BookBath and Tamara at Thyme For Tea are hosting Paris in July – celebrating their love of all things French and Parisian. It will run from the 1st – 31st July 2011 and the aim of the month is to celebrate our French experiences through reading, watching, listening to, observing, cooking and eating all things French.

I haven’t joined any challenges so far this year but this is too tempting to resist and it also fits in perfectly with two books I’ve been wanting to read: Summer Will Show by Sylvia Townsend Warner and The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery.

Recently I read The Paris Wife by Paula McLain – a fictional account of Ernest Hemingway and his first wife and their time in Paris in the 1920s. Bellezza then came up with the lovely idea of reading some Ernest Hemingway together and we chose A Moveable Feast, Hemingway’s thoughts on Paris. We will post about it on June 30 – as it turns out the perfect entrée for Paris in July reading.

Please join us if you would like to.

Pop over to Bellezza for her invitation and appetite whetting montage of Mr Hemingway.

Lots of fun…

7 responses to “Paris in July and an entrée

  1. I loved The Elegance of The Hedgehog. We’ll have to talk about the ending when you get there. I’ve wanted to read A Paris Wife, so we’ll have to talk about that when I get there. 🙂

    In the meantime, so looking forward to reading A Moveable Feast with you. I’ve downloaded it on my Nook, and it’s ready waiting for me to have time to open it up. We’ll have fun together!

  2. Bellezza – How lovely, we will have two extra books to talk about eventually as well as A Moveable Feast of course which I’m really looking forward to. I think I’m going to read that digitally as well, I have a fairly new kindle and have read two books on it so far so time to try another I think!

    I’m glad to hear you loved The Elegance of the Hedgehog – it’s been on my ‘hope to read soon’ wishlist for quite a while now so time to address that as well 0:)

  3. So glad you are going to join us for Paris In July!

  4. Karen – thank you, I’m really looking forward to it!

  5. The Elegance of a Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery is an enjoyable reading.
    In San Francisco there are Picasso’s exhibit at De Young Museum ( from Musee National Picasso,Paris) and at SFMOMA of Stein’s Picasso collection. Lots of old photos of the apartment with the paintings on the wall.of Gertrude Stein. Seeing them is a nice lateral visual of A Moveable Feast.

    • Edgar, thanks so much for taking the time to comment. I’ve been wanting to read it since it first came out so glad to hear you enjoyed it. The paintings sound amazing – I visited San Francisco last year and loved it so will keep these in mind for when I revisit (which I’m determined to do!).

  6. Pingback: Let’s Talk About Paris … | Fleur Fisher in her world

Leave a Reply

