Classics Challenge – Completed!

classicssmall

Timeframe: 1 April – 31 October 2009.
Goal: 6 books

A big thank you to Trish at Trish’s Reading Nook for hosting this challenge. I was a bit tentative about joining, having read so few classics. I’ve absolutely loved it and read some wonderful books with a couple of changes from the original list. I swapped Northanger Abbey and The Picture of Dorian Gray for The Red and the Black and Wuthering Heights. Both are on my TBR list. I didn’t want to rush through Wuthering Heights and The Red and the Black was just too ambitious I think!

Books read:

The woman in white – Wilkie Collins
Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
To kill a mockingbird – Harper Lee
North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell

Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen
The Picture of Dorian Gray – Oscar Wilde

Bonus – “should be” classic:

The Savage Detectives – Roberto Bolano

There is a tv programme in the UK, The Book Show, where each week’s guests are asked to pick their favourite literary character. Out of these books, I would pick Margaret Hale from North and South for her modest and principled and passionate nature – and her taste in men! My favourtie overall book was Jane Eyre – but it was a close call. They were all great in their own way.

3 responses to “Classics Challenge – Completed!

  1. I just wrote an entire post about intimidation, so I hear ya! 🙂 You’ve got a great list, though, so take it slow and just enjoy. Thanks for signing up.

  2. I agree, great list! Jane Eyre is wonderful, and I’m currently reading Woman in White. 🙂

  3. Thanks Trish and Amanda – I am slowly making my way through The Woman in White and really enjoying it so far..

Leave a comment