Therapy – Sebastian Fitzek

Head down and totally engrossed, I missed my train stop this week. Getting off the train at the end of the day is a bit of a priority so that is a real endorsement for this book. Therapy (A slim, page turning crime mystery/psychological thriller – clever and entertaining.

It doesn’t seem that easy to get hold of but I was lucky enough to pick up a copy in the library after discovering it at Beauty is a Sleeping Cat and Lizzy’s Literary Life.

As well as being an excellent thriller, Therapy allows us to step into a mentally unwell mind – a combination that makes for a genuine page turner.

The story is about Viktor Larenz, a world renowned psychiatrist who suffers a breakdown after the mysterious disappearance of his 12 year old daughter Josy. Four years on,with his life in tatters, he retreats to an isolated North Sea Island to deal with his grief. Here he encounters a woman suffering from schizophrenia, begging Viktor to take her on as his patient. Her case is unusual. A novelist, she claims her characters come to life. One of her characters is a 12 year old girl who has disappeared – the details make it impossible for Viktor to turn her away. As inconceivable as it seems, could this woman know something about the disappearance of his daughter?

There are two major plot twists in Therapy. One of these is hinted at fairly early on and to really enjoy the story, requires acceptance of this twist. Not everything is as it seems though and the other excellent twist occurs right at the end.

A very enjoyable read.

Translated from German by Sally-Ann Spencer

352 pages, 2008

5 responses to “Therapy – Sebastian Fitzek

  1. I’m glad you liked this so much. I think Lizzy said it was one of the best crime novel she’s ever read. I still have to get to it.
    Missing a train stop! Imagine. That’s a recommendation.

  2. Caroline – yes, it is a real recommendation! Have you read it? I had it in my mind you had but couldn’t find your review again when I looked. I definitely read about it on your blog though so thank you – I will be looking out for his other books now for sure!

    Sorry – just read your comment above again and see that you have yet to read it. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts when you do 0:)

  3. It is one of the best crime novels I’ve ever read. I don’t travel on public transport so there are no stops for me to miss but I did stay up until 2:00 am to finish it!

    • Lizzy – I can totally see how you would do that! Thank you very much for the recommendation. It is one of those books I would probably not have looked at otherwise and I would have missed a gem.

  4. it sounds like a brilliant book, Tracey, and now I’m really eager to find out how it ends. šŸ™‚
    Loved your blog. You have excellent tastes in books! following you now.
    Please do visit my book blog, and if you like it, please follow šŸ™‚

Leave a comment